Hey.

My name is Lexie; welcome to thebeewrd. Here we believe in beauty, brilliance and sometimes, bitchassness. All are welcome. Cheers, bees. 

Subscription Addiction: Ipsy Review

Subscription Addiction: Ipsy Review

If I haven’t already made it painfully clear, I am doing everything in my power to get myself to New York City by the end of the year. However, with big dreams sometimes comes big, well, monetary commitments. As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been working hard to save and budget my money, and in doing so, I have made the decision to start cutting certain things out of my life (for the time being), so I can save as much as possible before December rolls around. Impromptu shopping trips are a thing of the past, multiple weekly Starbucks runs have ceased, and while I still can’t find the strength to part with my Spotify Premium account, my dearly beloved Ipsy Bag subscription sadly didn’t make the cut. However, with that being said, I’d like to offer my opinions on Ipsy, and review my experience as an Ipsy-er. So, let’s get into it!

For those of you who are unfamiliar, Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service. Each month, subscribers receive a different “glam bag” filled with five different beauty products. Upon subscribing, you are required to fill out a short questionnaire about yourself and your beauty product preferences. Then, based on that information, products are chosen specifically for you! From hair serums and highlighters to lip plumpers and tweezers, I’ve received a wide range of different products in both trial and full sizes. Ipsy is great for both makeup first timers and beauty pros, because it gives you the opportunity to try unique products from many different brands, and at only $10 a month, what have you got to lose? I received my first Ipsy bag in July 2015 and my final one last month, August 2016, and during that time many of the products (and cosmetic bags) that I use in my everyday makeup routine have come from Ipsy, and I’m sure that I wouldn’t have found them on my own. #THANKFUL

Favorite products:

LATHER- Ultra Mild Face Wash (August 2015)
I took this with me when I went on spring break this past year. My skin always seems to be temperamental when I travel, and I knew that making the journey from New York to California would be no exception, but with this face wash, I was pleasantly surprised! It was gentle, mild and smelled fantastic.

theBalm Cosmetics- Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lip (October 2015)

Matte liquid lipsticks are so hit or miss, and this one is a HIT. The color and consistency are perfect, and it’s not overly drying. It’s a great mauvey nude with a touch of minty freshness.

Crown Brush- C413 Brow Duo Brush (December 2015)
PEEK Beauty- Natural Stain Brow Powder (January 2016)

When it came to filling in my brows, I was always partial to the Anastasia Brow Wiz, and truthfully, I never thought I would ever use another product, until I received this powder and brush combination. I am the type of person who only likes to lightly fill in my eyebrows, and this powder is perfect for that. The color is great, it stays on all day, and it looks perfectly natural.

Smashbox Cosmetics- X-Rated Mascara (May 2016)

I am picky about mascara, as most are. This is one of the best I have EVER used. It has tiny fibers in it that cling to your lashes making the look thicker and longer, and who doesn’t want that?

Trust Fund Beauty- Nail Polish in I’m Kind Of A Big Deal (February 2016) / Elegantly Wasted (August 2015)

Trust Fund Beauty has now become one of my favorite nail polish brands. The colors are beautiful and unique, and the formula is creamy, glossy, and easy to apply.

 

Least Favorite Products:

Elizabeth Mott- Queen of the Fill tinted Brow Gel (September 2015)
This brow gel did not match the color of my eyebrows, so after one use, I decided it was not for me. I definitely prefer power to gel.

Smashbox Cosmetics- Full Exposure Mascara (November 2015)
Like I said, I’m picky about mascara, and I was not a fan of this one. It seemed to clump my eyelashes together more than I like, and it was all together not a good formula for me.

Delectable by Cake Beauty- Everything Balm (June 2016)

This product kind of confused me. It clamed to be a balm that could be used for just about anything, so I tried it out on two of the suggested spots, my lips and my cuticles, and it totally dried both of them out. Maybe it would work better on other spots, but I’m not really interested in finding out.

MeMeMe Cosmetics- Loose Powder Brush (March 2016)
I have tried to use this brush with several different powders, and it just doesn’t seem to pick up product very well at all; it kind of just pushes it around.

PEEK Beauty- Nom Nom Natural Lip Plumping Balm in Miracle (May 2016)
I have never liked lip plumpers, but I tried this one out anyway. I was trying to give it the benefit of the doubt, but it didn’t seem to do anything to my lips at all! No plumping, no nothing.

Favorite Bag: August 2016

This little makeup mermaid is adorable. I love the colors and everything abut this bag!

Least Favorite Bag: June 2016

Although this bag isn’t really my style, I appreciate that every Ipsy bag is so different, so there is one that everyone will like.

I will definitely miss receiving my Ipsy bag in the mail every month, but it was a treat while I had it, and I now have many new products to add to my makeup repertoire! Do any of you have a subscription addiction? Let me know in the comments!

XOXO,
Lexie
BB

No Ragrets, Not Even A Letter

No Ragrets, Not Even A Letter

WTF Are You Talking About?

WTF Are You Talking About?